A new executive for NSC

A new executive for NSC

On Tuesday November 17, 2015 students from tertiary and secondary schools in Saint Lucia elected a new National Students’ Council executive at the Saint Lucia National Students’ Council Conference held at the National Cultural Centre.

This year the event was held on the 17th of November to commemorate “International Students’ Day”

The conference commenced with an opening ceremony, graced by the presence of His Lordship Justice Mario Michel. His lordship, a National Youth Council (NYC) stalwart, left students with encouraging remarks; urging them to break away from negative societal influences if they are to be effective leaders in their schools and within their communities.

The remainder of the conference featured presentations by the Caribbean Youth Environment Network (CYEN) on “Climate Change”, Mr. Kirt Hosam on “Effective Leadership” which was followed by the routine executive report and small group sessions.

Soca artist- Teddyson John, Saint Lucia Carnival Queen 2012- Janelle Desir, Gros Islet Carnival Queen 2014- Racquel John and the NYC’s President, Ms. Louise Victor were also in attendance.

They delivered a clear message to the assembly which underscored the value of staying true to ‘yourself’ and taking pride in what you’re good at.

The tail end of the day’s program ended after a heated deliberation on an article in the Saint Lucia National Students’ Council constitution. Nevertheless, this was rectified and the General Assembly proceeded to elect a new executive for the year 2015-2016.

The new executive is as follows:

President – Ajani Lebourne (Sir Arthur Lewis Community College)

Vice President (Districts 1-4) –  Josiah Biscette (Castries Comprehensive Secondary School)

Vice President (Districts 5-8) – Ruth Noel (Piaye Secondary School)

General Secretary – Rochelle Emmanuel (Castries Comprehensive Secondary School)

Assistant Secretary – Sophie Klein (Vieux-Fort Comprehensive Secondary School)

Treasurer –  Shakeena Pascal (Castries Comprehensive Secondary School)

Public Relations Officer – Derrelle Du Bois (Leon Hess Comprehensive Secondary School)

All positions with the exception of Vice President (District 5-8) were tightly contested as students went all out to secure votes in the speed campaign round. The position of Vice President (Districts 5-8) went unopposed.

2nd Vice President of the National Youth Council, Mr. Tevin Shepherd along with Returning Officer, Ms. Kina Nicholas expressed their gratitude to all students who vied for positions on the executive and encouraged them to continue being dedicated to their roles on the councils in their schools.

Mr. Shepherd congratulated the new executive and accentuated his desire to work with the National Students’ Council by outlining his responsibility as 2nd Vice President to the NYC and pledging his full commitment to the development of the organisation and the education system in Saint Lucia

Related Articles

Leave a Reply