New leadership for Saint Lucia Red Cross

New leadership for Saint Lucia Red Cross

The Saint Lucia Red Cross is pleased to announce the election of four new members to its Executive Committee. The new President is Hubert Pierre, whilst Carmen Charles will serve as Vice President.  The other two newly elected members are Verl James as Secretary and Vincent Boland as Treasurer.  

As President, Hubert Pierre brings in more than 40 years of Red Cross knowledge and experience having served as Youth Director, and later as Disaster Coordinator for the Saint Lucia Red Cross.  At the regional and international level, he conducted a number of humanitarian and disaster response missions for and on behalf of the International Federation of the Red Cross (IFRC).  Pierre is currently a member of the Americas Committee of Disaster Experts, a sub-grouping of experienced and trained persons specializing in logistics, health, volunteer support and food and shelter management.  

Pierre acknowledges that there are a number of tasks to be undertaken as a new executive. According to him, “a new beginning has commenced and there is quite alot to be done. I will endeavor with the team to make the Saint Lucia Red Cross one of the best Red Cross societies in the Caribbean.”

“As a humanitarian body we will do all we can to help alleviate human suffering in this country .We will be guided by the seven Fundamental Principles of the Red Cross. They have been the guide of the movement and we will continue to abide by them,” he reiterated.  “The team brings to the table nearly 115 years of Red Cross experience and I know that that experience will prove to be invaluable to the success of the Red Cross. We will all strive towards a bigger better more proficient Saint Lucia Red Cross.”

In addition to the powers of governing and directing the business and affairs of the Saint Lucia Red Cross, the new executive also has the mandate to oversee the management of the organisation.    

The four new executive members will be joined by Marva Edward-Oculien as Communications Officer, and Omegha Gaillard, as Youth Representative.  Two floor members and representatives of the St Lucia Government are also expected to join the Executive Committee.

The new Executive Committee was elected by delegates from local Red Cross branches around the island through a process of self-nominations and secret ballots.   The process was supervised by an elections committee headed by Miss Dawn French.

Leave a Reply