SLASA Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

SLASA Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

St. Lucia Amateur Swimming Association held its Annual Awards Ceremony for the year 2015, this past Sunday February 7th, under the theme, Swimming, A Gateway to Opportunities.

Hosting the Ceremony was Eden Crick and Cavarri Taylor, two swim members of the association. They were ably assisted by other swim members who took charge of the afternoon’s proceedings.

President Carol Mangal expressed her gratitude to the parents and swimmers for their efforts in the past year and gave special recognition to the sponsors who assisted whenever needed. She also acknowledged the participation of Donna and Matheo Capasso and Johnathan Mc Lennon for their efforts in the OECS open water competition.

In attendance was Key Note Speaker, Fortuna Belrose, President of the St. Lucia Olympic Committee. She focused on the benefits of swimming and the impact it has had and continues to have in a swimmers life.

Also in attendance was the Hon. Emma Hippolyte, Parliamentary Representative, Dr. Anthony George, Permanent Secretary of Ministry Youth and Sports, and Mr. Alfred Emmanuel, General Secretary of the St. Lucia Olympic Committee.

The presentations were well on its way recognizing swimmers who participated in Carifta, CCCan, Goodwill Swim Meet, and OECS swim Championship.

Team Players awards from the various swim clubs were awarded to Jayhan Odlum Smith, Shalini Joseph, Jorja Mederick, Ian Spigelberg, Yannick Layne, and Yolanda Ambrose.

Most Improved Swimmers awards went to Marissa Louisy of the Sea Jays Swim Club and Kenai D’Auvergne from the Racers Swim Club.

Age group awards went to the following Swimmers

Male 8 and Under                Female 8 and Under

1st Antoine Destang                Allie Capasso   

2nd Therron Herrelle                Jasmine Stede

3rd Karic Charles                Amelia Joseph


Male 9 – 10                    Female 9 – 10

1st D’Andre Blanchard                Naima Hazell

2nd Ziv Reynolds                Jorja Mederick

3rd Matheo Caapasso                Raven Steide

Male 11 – 12                    Female 11 – 12

1st Terrel Monplaisir                Katie Kyle

2nd Jamarr Archibald                Mikaili Charlemagne

3rd Jayhan Odlum Smith            Maya Hilaire

Male 13 – 14                    Female 13 -14

1st Nicholas Mc Lenno    n            Eden Crick

2nd Devin Boodha                Mikaeli Casimir

3rd Dristan Mauricette                Abbie Pultie

Male 15 and Over                Female 15 and Over

1st Jyasi Daniel                    Thalia Bergasse

2nd Christopher Phillip                Christiane Beaubrun

3rd Omar Alexander                Shernice Popo

Stroke Awards went to

Male Butterfly                Female Butterfly

Jyasi Daniel                    Katie Kyle

Male Back Stroke                Female Back Stroke

Jordan Augier                    Thalia Bergasse

Male Breaststroke                Female Breastroke

Terrel Monplaisir                Abbie Pultie

Male Freestyle                Female Freestyle

Jordan Augier                    Eden Crick

Male IM                    Female IM

Terrel Monplaisir                Eden Crick


Recognizing the tremendous contribution to the swimming community from Hilroy Emanus, SLASA awarded him with the Pat Charles award.

Jamie Peterkin from the Sharks Swim Club was recognized as Coach of the Year. He was charged with delivering the Coaches address expressing his thoughts on teamwork and why it takes a village to raise an Olympian.

The Overall Male Swimmer of year award went to Jordan Augier and Female Swimmer of the year award to Thalia Bergasse.

Terrell Monplaisir walked away with Junior Male Swimmer of the Year whilst Katie Kyle did her stepping with the Junior Female Swimmer of the Year. Congratulations!

Joyce Huxley who has served over 10 years to the swimming fraternity was presented a token of appreciation.

In August this year The Rodney Heights Aquatic Centre will be the home for the Goodwill Swim Meet. SLASA in this campaign to sensitise the public launched a logo competition amongst its swimmers. The winner of the competition was Yolande Ambrose from Southern Flying Fish.

The evening ended with the handover of hampers from the parents and swimmers of SLASA to the Lucianaid.

Slasa recognized its sponsors for 2015 to include St. Lucia National Lottery, Cage St. Lucia Ltd, St. Lucia Olympic Committee, West Indies Shipping, CGM Gallogher, Lucelec, Minvielle and Chastanet, Piton Malta agents in St. Lucia Windward and Leeward Brewery, Peter Foster, Lime, KFC, Mc Namara and Co, ECFH, Tourism Enhancement Fund, RBC, Tapion Doctors, Thaddeus Antoine, Excel Signs, Bay Gardens Hotel and the Trophy Center.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply