Holness names 14 ministries, 18 ministers

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Prime Minister of Jamaica, Andrew Holness in his address following the swearing-in of ministers, ministers of state and the attorney general at King’s House, made note of the fact that the government is now made-up of 14 full ministries to be manned by 18 ministers of Government.

These ministers will be assisted by four ministers of State.

This new Government is smaller than the previous Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller-led Administration, which had 20 ministers and eight State ministers.

In his comments Holness said: “The size of the Cabinet signals our intention as a government to be efficient and to be as frugal as possible in the governance of the country. We are committed to changing how government is run, not just talking about it.”

The Prime Minister ended his speech with the firm declaration that all ministers must run the affairs of their ministry with openness and without corruption.

“Corruption of any kind will not be tolerated,” Holness said.