OECS congratulates the West Indies Teams

Castries, Saint Lucia, 5th April 2016 РThe OECS Commission congratulates the proud men and women of our T-20 West Indies Teams for their remarkable performance in the T20 series in becoming the ICC Twenty/20 World Cup Champions.  We are equally proud of our U19 Team who were also victorious in the World Cup Championship earlier this year.


The OECS Commission says history will record the heroic contribution of our OECS nationals, who exemplified the highest standards of sportsmanship and commitment and who contributed towards the performance of our victorious Teams. We are honoured to salute the contribution of West Indies Men’s T20 Captain Darren Sammy, Andre Fletcher, Johnson Charles and Afy Samantha Fletcher from the T20 Women’s Team. The OECS Commission and people of this region also congratulate our young cricketers whose passion for success and love for the game helped steer the West Indies to victory at the 2016 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup earlier this year. They are: Alzarri Joseph, Ryan John, Emmanuel Stewart, Gidron Pope and Obed Mckoy.

Their fighting team spirit has inspired Caribbean people at home and abroad and is a timely reminder that we can always win when we are united, purposeful and determined.

Photos compliments West Indies Cricket Board