Caribbean College of Surgeons Concludes Successful Annual Conference

PRESS RELEASE:-The Caribbean College of Surgeons recently concluded a successful Annual Conference at the Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa in Vieux Fort, St Lucia.

This conference, held from 16th to the 18th of June, brought together surgeons, throughout the Caribbean, Europe and the United States. There were approximately 120 delegates.

For the first time there was a preceding practical component to the conference which took the form of a laparoscopic surgery workshop at St. Jude Hospital from the 13th to 15 June.

During the conference scientific papers were presented from the various Caribbean Islands. The new Minister of Health, Senator Mary Isaac held a welcome reception and had the opportunity to meet and speak with regional surgeons about various health issues.  

The conference also recognized local obstetrician gynecologist Dr Herbert Marius by making him an honorary fellow of the Caribbean College of surgeons.

At the annual general meeting the future of the college was discussed and elections were held to fill positions on the executive that had expired.

The new Executive is as follows: President: Dr Ramesh  Jonalagada (Barbados), Vice President Dr Cameron Wilson (St Kitts & Nevis), Treasurer Dr Ravi Maharaj (Trinidad), Secretary Dr Charles Greenidge (St. Lucia).

Counsellors are: Dr. Akil Baker (Jamaica), Dr. Christopher Warner (Barbados), Dr. Shamir Cawich (Trinidad & Tobago), Dr. Wesley Francis (Bahamas) and Prof. Dilip Dan (Trinidad).

The next annual conference is slated for Jamaica.