‘Reds’ welcomes Sammy’s return to squad

Sports broadcaster, Joseph ‘Reds’ Perreira, has welcomed the return of Daren Sammy to the Windward Islands fifty over squad.

Sammy will captain the team for the regional Super50 tournament.

According to reports  the full squad reads Sammy (captain), Sebastien (vice-captain), Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Keddy Lesporis, Johnson Charles, Dalton Polius, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Romel Currency, Tyrone Theophile, Alston Bobb, Gary Mathurin and Mervin Mathew.

The three reserves are Miles Bascombe, Nelon Pascal and Ronald Etienne.

“I certainly think it will lift the level of the Windwards Volcanoes,” Perreira said of Sammy’s involvement.

He described Sammy as a great motivator who would inspire confidence.

“If he can produce both with the bat and the ball – he is magnificent in the field, it should lift the team generally,” ‘Reds’ declared.

He told the Times that on paper, the team has an excellent chance.

But  he asserted that the team members have to perform in the middle.

Perreira said it was a ‘fairly experienced’ side with just a little bit of inexperience.

Nevertheless he was of the opinion that it was a good side which may cause a few upsets.

“The main thing is for them to get to the final – get to the semi-final in the Antigua/Barbuda zone and then any number can play,” the former OECS Sports Coordinator said.

He said Daren Sammy would bring a few more people through the turnstiles.


  1. Hope
    December 23, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    Welcome my brother you epitomize what a St. Lucian is God fearing, hardworking, humble, family man and know how to have clean fun.

  2. Anonymous
    December 23, 2016 at 7:04 pm

    Bravo sAmmy

  3. Anonymous
    December 23, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    We love you sammy

  4. Observer
    December 23, 2016 at 8:37 pm

    Welcome back Sammy.
    Did the writer get the team right. There are some six players listed who aren’t in the team. Lesporis, Polius, Currency, Peters, Bobb, and Mathurin

  5. cricket
    December 23, 2016 at 9:31 pm

    Welcome back Daren. Is that the team for the tournament.
    The writer seems to have gotten it wrong .
    There is no Lesporis, Mathurin, Bobb, Peters Currency or Polius in the team

  6. Feliz ano novo
    December 24, 2016 at 5:56 am

    Nice decision indeed