34 Swimmers to Represent St. Lucia at the OECS Swim Championship

PRESS RELEASE: After 26 years of the OECS Swim competition, St. Lucia Amateur Swimming association will host the 27th Annual Swimming Championship at the home of swimming in St. Lucia, The Rodney Heights Aquatic Centre. Over the past 26 years two islands, St. Lucia and Grenada, have dominated the win out of 5 competing islands to include Grenada, Antigua and Barbuda, Martinique, St. Vincent and St. Lucia. Due to recent weather conditions affecting various islands Dominica and British Virgin Island are unable to participate this year.

On conclusion of the Seajays Capri Sun Short Course Swim Championship also dubbed the OECS Swim Trials, SLASA Technical committee selected the top 34 swimmers to represent St. Lucia at the OECS Swim Championship slated for November 10th to the 12th 2017.

The Competition will be conducted in accordance with Fina Rules. Competitors will  compete in the 8 and Under through to 18 and over age group category.

Leading the country’s charge in the Girls and Boys 8 and under will be Fayth Jeffery, Mila Festini Cromer, Diego Vargas and Antoine Destang.

The 9 to 10 age group squad will be represented by Jasmine Stiede, Amelia Joseph, Jermina Odlum Smith, Anais Bataillard, Therron Herell, Karic Charles and Ethan Hazell.

Naima Hazell, Naekeisha Louis, D’Andre Blanchard, Ziv Reynolds and Akim Ernest will take control of the 11 to 12 age group swimmers.

The Senior representation on the team will be led by 13- 14 year old Mikaili Charlemagne, Marissa Louisy, Mya Hilaire, Shalini Joseph, Jayhan Odlum Smith, Terrel Monplaisir and Jamarr Archibald.

Eden Crick, Mikaela Casimir, Abbie Pultie, Mya Peter, Nicolas Mc Lennon, Omar Alexander and Devin Boodha will join team in their attempt to dominate the point standing.

The 18 and over entries will include Vanessa Eugene, Shernice Popo, Johnny Calderon and Micheal Louis Fernand whom SLASA expects to strengthen the teams representation.