Gros Islet Constituency Council Sworn In

- Advertisement -

Press Release:– The Gros Islet Constituency Council swearing-in ceremony was held on Thursday, September 23, 2021.  The newly appointed Councillors are: Egbert Lucien (Mayor); Sharon Ephraim (Deputy Mayor); Lennox Dupal; Ricky McDoom; Sherma Epiphane; Patrick Michaud; Jim Joseph; Snaliah Mahal; Silva Auguste; Jacqueline Trim; Nicloa D’Auvergne; Linda Charles Ambrose; Elgifa Duncan; Elva Florton; Ezra Augustin.

The District Representative for Gros Islet, Honourable Kenson Casimir in delivering his remarks explained that the selection of the Councillors was strategic as every community needed to be represented with individuals most suited for the cause.  

Honourable Casimir highlighted some of the functions of the council and reminded Councillors that their representation should always be for the people.  The Councillors were urged to be inclusive in their delivery of service to the constituency.

Honourable Richard Frederick, Minister of Housing and Local Government in the Office of the Prime Minister spoke of ongoing work to establish election of Councillors and urged the team to be exceptional in executing their roles which could result in their election at the end of the present term. 

- Advertisement -

The Councillors were advised by Honourable Frederick to conduct research before developing any project/programmes and look beyond central government for funding. 

Minister Frederick went on to say that though Gros Islet does not have natural resources like some other constituencies, the Gros Islet Friday Night should be capitalized as the unique treasure of the constituency and it should be developed further in order to benefit more of the constituents.

Mayor Egbert Lucien was elated as he expressed his gratitude to serve the people of Gros Islet at a local government level and assured the Parliamentary Representative that the newly appointed team would always consider the needs of the people in developing project/programmes for the constituency.

- Advertisement -
Editorial Staff
Editorial Staff
Our Editorial Staff at St. Lucia Times is a team publishing news and other articles to over 200,000 regular monthly readers in Saint Lucia and in over 150 other countries worldwide.


Comments are closed.


Subscribe to our St. Lucia Times Newsletter

Get our headlines emailed to you every day.

Send this to a friend