Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Guyana’s Ali sworn in as president after disputed vote

- Advertisement -

Stabroek News: Mohamed Irfaan Ali, 40,  was declared the 9th Executive President of Guyana by GECOM Chairperson, Claudette Singh.

He was later sworn in as President at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre after a series of fast-moving events. Former GDF Chief of Staff Mark Phillips was sworn in as Prime Minister and former President Bharrat Jagdeo was sworn in as Vice President. Anil Nandlall was sworn in as Attorney General and Gail Teixeira as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

Other Cabinet appointments are to be made later.

The announcement of the new President came this afternoon after Chief Election Officer Keith Lowenfield submitted the results of the March 2nd general elections using the recount figure which shows a victory for the PPP/C.

- Advertisement -

The Chair has then wrote Chancellor of the Judiciary, Justice Yonette Cummings advising of the result and requesting that arrangements be made to facilitate the swearing in. These arrangements were then swiftly put in place for the swearing in.

Lowenfield  made the submission this afternoon to the GECOM Chair  paving the way for the long-awaited declaration of the result and potentially ending a five-month-old crisis.

- Advertisement -
Editorial Staff
Editorial Staff
Our Editorial Staff at St. Lucia Times is a team publishing news and other articles to over 200,000 regular monthly readers in Saint Lucia and in over 150 other countries worldwide.


Comments are closed.


Subscribe to our St. Lucia Times Newsletter

Get our headlines emailed to you every day.

Send this to a friend