Wednesday, August 10, 2022

OECS Fortieth Anniversary To Be Celebrated in OECS Colours

- Advertisement -

Press Release:- The region will on June 18, 2021 celebrate the Fortieth Anniversary since the signing of the Treaty of Basseterre which established the Organisation of the Eastern Caribbean States.

This Treaty was signed by seven Member States namely Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Since then, four (4) Associate Member States have joined the organization, namely Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Martinique and Guadeloupe.

In light of this milestone Anniversary, the Government of Saint Lucia has decided to celebrate OECS Day 2021 by encouraging all persons to dress in the OECS flag colours on June 18, 2021.

- Advertisement -

The OECS colours are green, dark blue, yellow and white.

Everyone is encouraged to take photos in their OECS colours and post on social media platforms – Facebook and Instagram with the hash tag #OECSColoursDay2021.

Another event planned to celebrate the Fortieth Anniversary is an OECS Flag Raising Ceremony scheduled to take place on the same date, at 8:00am in the Greaham Louisy Administrative Building Parking Lot.

Persons are invited to view online via the Government Information System (GIS) Youtube Page, and television, via the National Television Network (NTN).

These activities, inclusive of an upcoming OECS Commissioners Round Table, are geared towards raising awareness on the achievements and role of the OECS and its institutions, and their impact on the lives of people in the region.

- Advertisement -
Editorial Staff
Editorial Staff
Our Editorial Staff at St. Lucia Times is a team publishing news and other articles to over 200,000 regular monthly readers in Saint Lucia and in over 150 other countries worldwide.


Subscribe to our St. Lucia Times Newsletter

Get our headlines emailed to you every day.

Send this to a friend