PRESS RELEASE:-The Local Government Council Authority was developed to provide efficient and effective resource distribution to residents of local communities in Saint Lucia. In order to ensure that the Government fulfils their obligations, the Government of Saint Lucia has commissioned thirteen (13) new Constituency Councils. These include:

  1. Babonneau
  2. Canaries
  3. Gros -Islet
  4. Choiseul
  5. Dennery North
  6. Dennery South
  7. Micoud North
  8. Micoud South
  9. Anse La Raye
  10. Castries South East
  11. Soufriere
  12. Vieux Fort North
  13. Castries Constituency Council (CCC)

The Mayors elected to date are Mr. Piu Gangardine for Soufriere, Mr. James Edwin Gros – Islet and Mr. Peterson Francis for Castries. Eight (8) members will be sworn in on Tuesday August 2nd, 2016. The members of Castries Constituency Council (CCC) to be sworn in are as follows:

  1. Mr. Peterson Francis – Mayor;
  2. Ms. Anselma Calderson – Deputy Mayor;
  3. Mr. Chris Mitchel;
  4. Ms. Brenda Edwin;
  5. Mr. Augustin Victor;
  6. Mr. Victor Maurice;
  7. Mr. Stephen Chicot; and
  8. Mr. Lesie Prospere.

The Ministry congratulates all the newly appointed council members.