Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Rovman Powell To Lead West Indies

Rovman Powell will lead West Indies in their three-match One-Day International series against Bangladesh starting next weekend, it has been announced.

CMC has reported that Jason Holder who is the regular captain will miss the series as he continues to recover from injury.

According to the news service, the 15-man squad sees the return of Darren Bravo and Carlos Brathwaite, but is without the likes of key players Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Andre Russell and Sunil Narine.

ESPN Cricinfo quoted the Chairman of Selectors, Courtney Browne, as saying that in the absence of captain Jason Holder, the panel believes the team can still be competitive, especially with the return of Darren Bravo.

“Darren’s experience will add value to the batting, which in turn will place selection pressure for spots in the squad,” Browne stated.

CMC named the squad as comprising: Rovman Powell (captain), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Roston Chase, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels and Oshane Thomas.


Truck Driver Killed In Ciceron Accident Identified

Saint Lucia police have identified a male killed in a truck accident Monday as Rudolph Etienne of Bexon. Police spokeswoman, Anne Joseph, told reporters Tuesday...

PM Announces Thrust To Facilitate Saint Lucian Investors

Prime Minister Allen Chastanet has discounted the notion that Invest Saint Lucia facilitates only foreign direct investment, while announcing plans to facilitate Saint Lucian...

Methodist School Teachers ‘Walk Off The Job’

The Ministry of Education has informed parents and guardians of student attending the Gordon and Walcott Methodist combined school that teachers have walked off...

Three Male Inmates Assault Female At BCF

Three male inmates assaulted a female detainee at Bordelais Correctional Facility (BCF) Monday afternoon about 12.10 pm, Director of Corrections Hilary Herman has disclosed. "It...
We're moving from WhatsApp. Join Our New Notification ChannelJoin
+ +