Sanovnik Destang Elected 3rd VP Of CHTA

- Advertisement -

Press Release:- CASTRIES October 21, 2020 The Saint Lucia Tourism Authority (SLTA) wishes to congratulate Mr. Sanovnik Destang on assuming the role of 3rd Vice President of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association (CHTA).

CHTA has been the pillar of the Caribbean hospitality industry working together with over 1,000 hotels, allied members, and National Hotel Associations in shaping the Caribbean’s future, while helping members to grow their business.

A son of the soil, Sanovnik Destang is the Executive Director and shareholder of local resort chain, Bay Gardens Resorts providing leadership to the brand for the last 12 years.

He is also a former Regional Vice President of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association and has served in various capacities over the last eight years.

- Advertisement -

Mr. Destang is currently the Immediate Past President of the St. Lucia Hotel and Tourism Association (SLHTA) having previously served as the President of the Association from February 2016 to July 2018. As President of the Association he played a pivotal role in leading many advocacy efforts on several important matters including the Sharing Economy, Taxation and Alternative Energy.

Financed by the SLHTA’s Tourism Enhancement Fund, his work during the period 2014-2016 in expanding the Association’s efforts in the fields of Linkages and People Development with the establishment of the award winning Virtual Agricultural Clearing House and the SLHTA Young Leaders Initiative, have not gone unnoticed.

Mr. Destang has also served as a Director on the board of the Saint Lucia Development Bank, a Director and member of the Marketing Committee at the Saint Lucia Tourist Board, Deputy Chairman of the Youth Enterprise Equity Fund and member of the Investment Committee at the National Insurance Corporation.

Under the Presidency of Mr. Pablo J. Torres, Mr. Sanovnik Destang will serve on the executive for the period 2020 – 2022 along with 1st Vice President – Nicola Madden-Greig,  2nd Vice President – Gregor Nassief,  4th Vice President – Leo Garbutt,  5th Vice President– Bill Clegg,  and Treasurer – Jim Hepple.

The SLTA wishes the executive membership of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association the very best during their tenure as they navigate through a time of crisis when the world looks to tourism as a driver of equality, creator of employment and provider of sustainable development.

- Advertisement -
Editorial Staff
Editorial Staff
Our Editorial Staff at St. Lucia Times is a team publishing news and other articles to over 200,000 regular monthly readers in Saint Lucia and in over 150 other countries worldwide.


Comments are closed.


Subscribe to our St. Lucia Times Newsletter

Get our headlines emailed to you every day.

Burglary Suspect Caught In Gros IsletRead
+ +
Send this to a friend